Free Margaretta D’Arcy, Free Shannon GWS Statement and endorsements (so far).

To add your name, please email

Free Margaretta D’Arcy, Free Shannon
Statement to the Press and the Public

We are outraged to learn that our dear sister and colleague Margaretta D’Arcy has been jailed – and for three months! – for protesting the use of the civilian airport at Shannon for US wars. And we are deeply worried about her health and well-being as a cancer patient. One of the many public services Ms D’Arcy has performed is to protest the Irish government’s many years of complicity in US war crimes and its destruction of Irish neutrality. She has been dedicated to highlighting that the most devastating impact of war is on women and our children, both directly from the bombs that rain down on us, and by paying with our poverty for the horrendous weapons of massive destruction that surround us all.

Ms D’Arcy is a veteran of Greenham Common Women’s Peace Camp, which opposed the US military placing cruise missiles on common land in England, and won – the camp is no longer a military base. To dissent from a perspective of permanent war and austerity, and demand the protection of life and the planet, is increasingly labelled subversive and even criminal behaviour. While war criminals are allowed to pass through Irish airports and financial criminals go unpunished, the Irish State in thrall to the US, UK, EU and IMF Masters of War has imprisoned a pensioner who has dedicated herself to highlighting and preventing war crimes.

An attack on courageous and principled Margaretta D’Arcy is an attack on us all.

We demand the immediate release of Margaretta D’Arcy.
Invest in caring not killing.

Selma James
on behalf of Global Women’s Strike

Maggie Ronayne
on behalf of Global Women’s Strike, Ireland

Endorsed by:

Andaiye, Red Thread, Guyana
John Adams, Ireland
Niki Adams, English Collective of Prostitutes, UK
Mary Alacoque Ryan, English Language Support Teachers' Association
Pat Albright, USA
Cristel Amiss, UK
Finn Arden, Film Maker, UK/Ireland
Jake Arden, UK
Kiki Axelsson, UK/Sweden
Mir Bahmanyar
Amanda Balfe, Ireland
Shan Barclay
Alex Brew, UK
Audrey Bryan PhD, Lecturer, Dublin City University, Ireland
Dr Chris Burns-Cox, MD FRCP, UK
Janet Callaway, USA
Sara Callaway, Women of Colour in the GWS, UK
Ruth Carr, N Ireland
Kay Chapman, Orange Gate, Greenham Common (1983-84), UK
John Chillingworth, UK
Dr Laurence Cox, National University of Ireland, Maynooth, Ireland
Tony Cunningham, Ireland
Thomas Paine Cronin, Past President AFSCME D.C.47, retired, USA
Merry Cross
Bill Crossman, USA
Petra Dando, UK
Luke Daniels, President, Caribbean Labour Solidarity, UK
Mary Darcy, Ireland
Jessica Davies
Mary Deane, Ireland
Frank Donoghue, Tallaght, Dublin, Ireland
Vicky Donnelly, Ireland
Andree Soden Doyle, Ireland
Gerry Dunning, Irish Republican Prisoners Support Group
Sara Dustin, USA
Amon, Dyas, UK
Siân Evans, Orange Gate, Greenham Common (1983-84), UK
Sister Joan Faber, Society of the Sacred Heart, UK
Hilary Fagan, Ireland
John Fitzgibbon, Ireland
Ciara Fitzpatrick, National University of Ireland Maynooth, Ireland
Carol Foster, RMT, UK
Róisín Francis, UK
Solveig Francis, UK
Rab Fulton, Ireland
Gemma Gallagher, Ireland
Mick Gibbons, Ireland
David Gibson, Organizing Director, Peacehome Campaigns, USA
Margaret Gillan, Co-ordinator, Community Media Network, Ireland
Eric Gjertsen, USA
Claire Glasman, WinVisible, UK
Bernie Grummell, Ireland
Austin Harney, CRAIC Fighting the Cuts, UK
Aine Hennelly, Dublin, Ireland
Mary Hladky, Jobs Not War Planning Committee, USA
Emily Hourigan, Ireland
Hilde Hucks, UK
Aisling Hudson, Ireland
David Hyndman, N Ireland
Marilyn Hyndman, N Ireland
Sunny Jacobs, Ireland
Phoebe Jones-Schellenberg, Global Women’s Strike, US
Birgitta Jonsdottir, member of the Icelandic Parliament Iceland
Michael Kalmanovitz, International Jewish Anti-Zionist Network UK
Willow Katz
June Kelly, Ireland
Mary O'Brien, CDSM, Ireland
Dean Kendall, USA
Bruce, Kent, UK
Eusi Kwayana, Guyana
Lorry Leader, UK
Peter M Le Mare, Petanna Peace Barn, UK
Les Levidow, UK
Emma, Lewis, UK
Lisa Longstaff,
John Llwyd, Wales
Nina Lopez, Legal Action for Women, UK
Ann Lyons, National University of Ireland, Galway, Ireland
Bernadette MacCeallaigh, Ireland
Susan Malpass
Mags Mannion, Ireland
Benoit Martin, UK
Kevin Martin Executive Director National Peace Action, US
Bernie, McAdams, NUT UK
Carrie-Anne McAlonan-McCrudden, General Manager, Aisling Ghéar Theatre Co, N Ireland
Dave McCormack, Ireland
Mary McDonnell, Ireland
Sara McDonnell, Ireland
Prof. Terrence McDonough, Ireland
Maurice Montet, Secretary, Union Pacifiste de France
Sara Mc Namara
Terri McWeeney, Ireland
M E Milllington, Yellow Gate, Greenham Common (1982-1990), UK
Cari Mitchell, UK
Maura Molly, Ireland
Rev Bob Moore, Director, Coalition for Peace Action, Regional Office, Princeton, NJ, US
Justin Morahan, Ireland
Tammy Murphy, Project for Nuclear Awareness , USA
Lori Nairne, USA
Anne Neale, UK
Non-Aligned Women’s Movement, Greece
Sean O’ Dalaigh, Ireland
Elizabeth O'Donoghue, Ireland
Theresa O’Keefe, Ireland
Collette O’Regan, Coordinator, People’s Action for Change, Cambodia
Laura Patton, UK
Annie Paradise
Lionel Pilkington, Ireland
Rev Edward Pinkney, Black Autonomy Network Community Organization, USA
Karen Porter, Coordinator, Chester County Peace Movement, USA
Margaret Prescod, host, "Sojourner Truth", Pacifica Radio, USA
Peter Pringle, Ireland
Mike Prokosch, Coordinator, New Priorities Network (for identification only) USA
Jon Rainwater, Executive Director, Peace Action West (for identification only) USA
Chandra Redack, USA
Louanne Richards, UK
Giorgio Riva, Payday men’s network, UK
Larry Roe
Nora Roman, USA
Jo Ronayne, UK
Geraldine Rose, UK
Sydney Ross-Risden, USA
Didi Rossi, Queer Strike, UK
Mary Ryan, Ireland
Ariane Sacco, UK
Sylvia Salley, UK
Dr Micheline Sheehy Skeffington, Ireland
Claire Smee, UK
Robert M. Smith, Brandywine Peace Community, USA
Damien Smyth, UK
Richard Solly, UK
Kim Sparrow, Single Mothers’ Self Defence, UK
Cat Steele, USA
Jerry Stein President, The Peace Farm, USA
Angela Stephens, UK
Ruth Todasco, USA
Margaret Tomany, Ireland
Michael Tomany, Ireland
Anna Thorburn, UK
Anthony Timmons, UK
John Tymon, Kilburn Stop the War, UK
Werijus Varusas
Lynda Walker
Andrew Warren, UK
Sam Weinstein, UK
Rachel West, USA
Roman Wilmot, Ireland
Doreen Wilson, Wales
B I Yantao, President, World Society for Strategic Communication, China